Mashed ‘Taters

14Dec11

I wish I could give a recipe for this one, but here’s the closest I can do…Yes, I am still posting Thanksgiving recipes…

One potato/serving

Stick of butter + a little more

Some milk

Some half/half

Some sour cream or cream cheese

Garlic cloves

Penzey’s Country French Vinaigrette

Boil potatoes, drain and allow to cool.  Peel and rice potatoes.  Melt butter in a saucepan on medium heat.  Add garlic and sauté for a moment.  Add riced potatoes.  Add a few dashes of milk, mix.  Add milk according to preferences.  Toss some half/half in if you’ve got it…Put a few more squares of butter in mix it up. Add either a few spoon fulls of sour cream or half a package of cream cheese, mix.  Add some of the spices and voilà!

Just a note, you don’t have to rice the potatoes…you can just smash them.  Since this gal works with just a whisk, the ricing helps make the taters more manageable…You can always add in bacon or cheddar to spice up the leftovers too!

Family verdict.  They loved it.  Especially our Irish guest, who I believe is a connoisseur of all things potato…

My verdict.  It was good.  Thicker than usual.  I used cream cheese, because I did not have sour cream.  It’s good, I prefer the sour cream…



No Responses Yet to “Mashed ‘Taters”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment